The Ten Laws of Boundaries

Boundaries – the 10 Laws of Boundaries by Cloud and Townsend
* Trigger warning * for Christianity on Laws 3 and 9.

This comes from their well known book
Boundaries: When to say Yes,
When to say NO
To Take Control of Your Life

(the book is excellent but very focusing on Christianity so some small parts might not make sense to non-Christians, eg some Bible quotes are without non-religious supporting explanations)

Falling Forward

One of the books I’m reading as part of my therapy is “Boundaries” by Dr. Henry Cloud and Dr. John Townsend. Itbasically teaches you about setting and maintaining healthy boundaries with yourself and other people, and addresses issues that arise when boundaries are not maintained. It helps you learn what you are responsible for and what you’re not, and when to say “no.”

The lack of boundaries has always been an issue for me, and until I started therapy, I really had no grasp of the concept. I didn’t understand that I wasn’t responsible for everyone else, and that others did not have a right to invade my “space,” in a sense. I didn’t even understand that I had the right to say “no” without feeling guilty, or that I could be in control of what (or who) does or does not have a place in my life. This…

View original post 2,171 more words

2 thoughts on “The Ten Laws of Boundaries

  1. Pingback: Extreme “victimized narcissistic” – covert abuse: lies and manipulation | Trauma and Dissociation

  2. Pingback: Complex PTSD as an official diagnosis | Trauma and Dissociation

Leave a Reply

