Discovering That I am Allowed to Have Fun!

An inspiring blog about allowing yourself to have fun, and defeating the childhood messages that made having fun ‘dangerous’

DIDdispatches Blog

 

image

Last week I realised that I didn’t know how to have fun instinctively, in fact I found it hard to acknowledge that I was allowed to have fun. I know these behaviours and thoughts are the result of my past, but it is hard to rebuild a life that is over forty years in the making. The idea I could have fun seemed absurd, it’s a bit of an alien concept to me and so I really wasn’t sure if I was ever going to change this inability to have fun. To do the things most people take for granted, like paddling in the sea or having a picnic, seemed way too far ahead of me and so far out of reach at this time.

But spurred on by my psychologist and his words in therapy about fun being ok, I decided to try and change things. You see…

View original post 1,417 more words

Leave a Reply

