Being male and a survivor

Being male and a survivor

 

My Healing From CSA

Being a male and a survivor, it’s one of the hardest things you can ever be. People think that as a man you’re strong enough to let it roll of your back and get on with your life. It’s not as easy as this.

When I first disclosed I knew that I would have a fight, fight to be believed, fight to be accepted and fight for the help I need. Yes, I still need help with the depression. With learning how to trust and love again. This is still so hard.

People don’t understand the effect abuse has on a persons life. It destroys hope, it destroys trust. The main effect on me has been to destroy my school life. I used to sit and look in to space wishing my life away.

Even today I feel let down by a system that doesn’t ask the right questions. A…

View original post 92 more words

One thought on “Being male and a survivor

  1. Pingback: Life After Abuse: What No-one Tells You | Trauma and Dissociation

Leave a Reply

