Does Post-Traumatic Growth Mean It Was All for the Best?

danorbit. via Compfight
Discomfort

I guess post-traumatic growth (PTG) is the technical term for “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” To be honest, every time I start to write about it, I feel uncomfortable. I get a sense that I’m betraying my clients, all survivors of sexual violence, to talk about the benefits of being assaulted. It’s not a phrase we throw around much where I work. It’s completely intuitive that there will be growth after any hardship, it’s just that there are also scars.

 

Does Post-Traumatic Growth Mean It Was All for the Best?

One thought on “Does Post-Traumatic Growth Mean It Was All for the Best?

  1. Pingback: Positive effects of Post-traumatic Stress Disorder. Seriously? | Trauma and Dissociation

Leave a Reply

