Relationship difficulties in trauma survivors: the Victim, Rescuer and Persecutor roles and the Drama Triangle

I’ve been thinking of blogging about this for a while and then stumbled across an excellent blog today, written by a counselor.

This is so common in trauma survivors – as it being stuck in a “Victim” mode where you feel helpless and unable to change anything or get out of situations on your own, leaving you in need of a Rescuer… the concept is known as the Karpman Drama Triangle, from  Transactional Analysis.

Image from wikimedia commons

an alternative model, with a positive outcome is David Emerald’s The Empowerment Dynamic
Image

(both images courtesy of wikimedia commons)

Read the full explanation in this excellent blog

http://www.counsellingwestonsupermare.co.uk/featured/relationship-difficulties/

5 thoughts on “Relationship difficulties in trauma survivors: the Victim, Rescuer and Persecutor roles and the Drama Triangle

  1. Pingback: Am I a lost cause? | Trauma and Dissociation

  2. I had issues with this after a serious sexual assault I had just met my partner , but we survived it and 5 years on we are still together and stronger than ever but it took a lot if work , he was very patient and understanding to my mood swings and I pushed him away but I love him so much now and I feel so lucky to have had him with me every step of the way x

    I think your blog is great I will be a reg visitor I hope you enjoy my blog make sure u follow me and like my blog if you don’t mind then u will get all my updates x

    Speak soon hopefully I will share your blog on twitter and Facebook hopefully get u some more followers on such a great blog x happy u liked my male rape blog article I think it is a serious subject snd needs awareness that’s why I put it on my blog as it happens to anybody not just women

    Take care and good luck with your blog thank you for visiting mine xx

    Love Sarah from http://sexism2wardswomen.wordpress.com/blog

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Immigrant Women and Children Project – Thoughts Following my Time with the New York City Bar Justice Centre | inclusive migration

Leave a Reply

